

THE OFFICIAL NEWSLETTER OF THE ALABAMA STATE BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

Presidential Message

I recently presented the Alabama Law class at the ASCA convention. This years presentations discuss an old case involving a doctor who had numerous complaints spanning several years. The complaints ranged from advertising violations to insurance and trust accounting billing problems. The major issue of the case centered around elder abuse and excessive billing of elderly patients in the treatment of neuropathy.

The revisiting of this case is relevant to the current trend of complaints the board is currently investigating. The treatment of neuropathy has become a major issue and the board has been receiving numerous complaints on multiple doctors and clinics. We currently have multiple investigations involving clinics all over the state.

I would like to remind you to check your board rules regarding trust accounting, billing, and advertising as these are all issues in Presidential Message continues Page 2

2024-25 Renewal Reminder

If you have already obtained your required chiropractic continuing education hours for the August renewal, please forward a copy of the approved hours now. The hours certificate needs to have the Alabama approval number written on it. The renewal process is much smoother if you don't wait until September to obtain your hours and submit them to the Board. (18 hours are required for your renewal each year with part of those in Alabama Law).

You should have purchased your Alabama Section 136 Business (privilege) License in October 2023 for the year 2023-24 please email a copy to Angie. angie.johnson@chiro.alabama.gov



INSIDE THIS ISSUE

Presidential Message

Dates to Calendar1
New Fees Rule10-12
New Licensees 3
Online Seminars7-9
Quarterly Performance 3
In Person Seminars4-5

SPECIAL POINT OF INTEREST

• Check Continuing Education Hours

the cases we are currently reviewing.

The board as recently voted to increase our license renewal fee from \$300 to \$360. This is the first increase we have made in the past ten (10) years but due to our increasing costs of operations it has become necessary at this time to raise our fees. The fee increase is based on a percentage of the consumer price index and is set by the state as to how much we can increase. We also cannot make any changes to this for a period of five (5) years.

I would like encourage everyone who is not already involved in our political association to get involved. The profession has been inundated with various other professions trying to continually encroach on our practice model. The political climate is tough and if you continue to remain silent you may not have much that is unique to our profession that is left to call Chiropractic.

Brian Wells Board President

CHECK YOUR CONTINUING ED CREDITS ON THE WEBSITE

It's easy to look up the continuing education hours the Board has on file for the upcoming renewal.

On the **Board's Home Page** (www.chiro.alabama.gov) click on 'Online Services'

Then click 'Check Continuing Education Hours on File' and log in with your license number and the last 4 digits of your social security number. You will then see a list of the CCE the Board has on file. Please fax any certificates you have that are **not** reflected to 205-755-0081 or email to

angie.johnson@chiro.alabama.gov.

Note: When you submit hours they will not be reflected on the website on the same day.

CONGRATULATIONS TO THOSE LICENSED SINCE APRIL 2024

NAME	CITY	STATE	E MAIL
Badon, Natalie Danielle DC	Mobile	AL	nataliebadon@gmail.com
	Owens Cross		
Campbell, Brandan DC	Roads	AL	
Conn, Cary Wayne DC	Newell	AL	drcaryconn@gmail.com
Foster, David Matthew II, DC	Ruther Glen	VA	fostersmedical@gmail.com
Grant, Javirous Devontay DC	Montgomery	AL	javirous.grant@yahoo.com
Grear, Jeffrey A DC	Fairhope	AL	
Harris, Steven Trent DC	Montgomery	AL	10tharris@gmail.com
Herrscher, William DC	Athens	AL	
Sloman, Alaina Brooke DC	Alabaster	AL	
Snyder, Mark Richard DC	Roswell	GA	drmarksnyder@hotmail.com
Williams, Charlai La'Rose DC	Montgomery	AL	

Board Quarterly Performance Report

Applications Sent	14
Transcripts Processed	33
New License Issued	17
License Verifications	260
Complaints Received	2
Disciplinary Hearings	0
Outgoing Correspondence	1053
Continuing Education Reviewed	107

Upcoming In Person Seminars

The seminars listed below have been approved by the Alabama Board for renewal CCE

- **ASCA** presents the following courses. For information contact Brenda Toler at 334-262-2228.
 - "ASCA 2024 Huntsville Seminar" 18 Hours June 24-25- in Huntsville, Alabama.*** Includes Alabama Law
 - "Dry Needling Program" 21 Hours June 24-25- in Huntsville, Alabama.
- <u>CAL</u> presents the following course. For information contact Melissa Chittom at 225-769-5560.
- "CAL Annual Convention" 46 Hours August 23-25 in Baton Rouge, LA.
- **CSA** presents the following course. For information contact Louis Poe DC at 205-967-4444.
 - "Chiropractic Imaging / Alabama Chiropractic Law" 12 Hours July 27-28 in Birmingham, Alabama.
- <u>**DC Online**</u> offers the following course. For information contact Denise Moreau at 712-260-2507.
 - "CCSP Emergency Procedures in Sports" 12 Hours September 21-22, 2024 in Denver CO.
- <u>Fetterman Events</u> presents the following courses. For information contact Kris Fetterman at 517-997-6116.
 - "BFR with Rehab & Exercises" 6 Hours August 1 in Memphis, TN, August 17 in Knoxville, TN and September 7 in Mobile, Alabama.
 - "Dry Needling Applications & Techniques" 12 Hours July 6 in Nashville, TN
 - "Empowering the Chiropractic Treatments" 12 Hours August 17 in Knoxville, TN.
 - "Extremity Adjusting: Hands to Feet Workshop" 12 Hours August 24 in Montgomery Alabama.
 - "Important Common Concerns You See on Imaging" 12 Hours September 21 in Knoxville, TN and November 2 in Seattle, WA.
 - "Neurology & Vagas Nerve Stimulation" 12 Hours September 14 in Dothan, Alabama.
 - "Non Surgical Spinal Decompression" 12 Hours July 29 in Birmingham, Alabama.
 - "Pain Management & Mobility" 12 Hours July 20 in Mobile, Alabama.

- "Taping Techniques & Sports Chiropractic" 12 Hours in Birmingham, Alabama and October 17 in Chattanooga, TN.
- "The Ins & Outs of Laser Therapy" 6 Hours September 14 in Chattanooga, TN.
- "The Role of Chiropractic Care in Managing Dementia" 12 Hours July 13 in Huntsville, Alabama.
- "Thompson Technique: Pediatric to Geriatric" 12 Hours September 14 in Marietta, GA and September 21 in Huntsville, Alabama.
- "Treating & Managing Lumbar Radiculopathies" 6 Hours September 14 in Chattanooga, TN.
- "Unlocking the Secrets of Billing & Coding" 6 Hours September 19 in Nashville, TN.
- **Georgia Council of Chiropratic** presents the following course. For information contact Katrine Frazier at 678-6674567.
 - "Atlanta Summer CE Conference" 19 Hours June 22-23 in Atlanta, GA.
- **ICPA** presents the following course. For information contact Siobhan Nield at 610-565-2360.
 - "Perinatal Health: Epigenetics and Parental Nutrition" 12 hours July 13-14 in Morristown, NJ.
- <u>Life University</u> presents the following courses. For information contact Laura Wallace at (770) 426-2753.
 - "Mod 1 Full Spine Care for the Prenatal & Pediatric Population including the Webster Technique" 12 Hours August 3-4 in Marietta, GA.
 - "Mod 6 Leading the Way for Optimal Brain Development with Spinal Movement" 12 Hours August 10-11 in Marietta, GA.
 - "Mod 7 Lower Extremities Chiropractic Examination and Treatment" 12 Hours September 21-22 in Marietta, GA.
 - "CCEP Module 1: Advanced Principles of TMJ, Ribs & Should Girdle" 15 Hours October 12-13, 2024 in Marietta, GA.
 - "CCEP Module 2: Upper Extremity" 15 Hours November 16-17, 2024 in Marietta, GA.

Upcoming In Person Seminars

continued

The seminars listed below have been approved by the Alabama Board for renewal CCE

<u>Life West Chiropractic College (Max Living)</u> presents the following course. For information contact Kasey Hua at 510-780-4508.

"MLX Thrive" 8 Hours September 20-21 in Orlando, FL.

<u>Logan University</u> presents the following course. For information contact Amber Henry at 800-842-3234.

"The Golfer and Their Spine" 12 Hours September 28 in Birmingham Alabama.

<u>National University</u> presents the following course. For information contact Kaitlin Scully (630) 889-6622.

"The Art of Assessment" 12 hours August 10-11, 2024 in Birmingham, AL.

Northeast College of Health Science presents the following courses. For information contact Katrina Andre at (516) 597-3551.

"Acoustic Wave/Shockwave Masterclass: Levels I and II" 13 Hours September 14-15 in Marietta, GA.

"Advanced Herbal Solutions for the Modern Patient" 8 Hours September 7 in Birmingham AL.

"Accelerating Recovery: Exploring the Synergy of Comprehensive Sports Rehab and Shockwave Therapy Workshop" 6 Hours June 28, 2024 in Marietta GA.

"SORSI Florida Regional Seminar" 12 Hours July 20-21, September 7-8 and November 2-3 in Stuart, FL.

Northwestern Health Sciences University presents the following course. For information contact Tara Dittbenner at 952-698-8540.

"Brainwaves: Impacts of Today's Top Therapies Quantified on qEEG & sLORETA" 12 Hours July 13-14 in Portland, ME.

<u>Sacro Occipital Research Society International</u> presents the following course. For information please contact Denise Moody at 913-239-0228.

"SOT (R) Basics Regional Seminar in Alabama Introduction to Categories, Extremities and Perinatal Care, Intro to SOT (R) Pediatrics" 12 Hours July 12-13 and August 8-10 in Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Sherman College of Chiropractic presents the following course. For information contact Rozelle Foster at 864-578-8770.

"Occipital Lift & Module B: Adjust Anyone Anywhere" 18 Hours September 6-8 in Orlando, FL

<u>Texas Chiropractic</u> offer the following Online course. For information contact Bianca Chopane at (281) 998-5735.

"2024 TCC CONVENTION" 38 Hours July 25-27 in Galveston, TX

COST RECOVERY CHARGES

5 yr CCE History	\$25
Licensee Listing	\$50 for paper list and a minimum of \$75 for CD
Mailing Labels	\$60
Copy of Rules	\$50
NSF Fee	Max allowed by Law 13A-9 -13.2 8-8-15 states effec-
Fee to resend Mail	\$25
Proposed Rule Subscription	\$10
Wellness Monitoring Fee	\$850
Background Check	Current Fee Charged by AL Law Enforcement Agency

New Fee Schedule

<u>FEE</u>	AMOUNT
License Application	\$150
Exam Application License/Permit	\$150
Licensure by Credentials	\$1,200
Original License/Permit	\$90
Clinic Owner Non licensed Initial and Renewal	\$360
License Replacement / Duplicate License	\$90
Renewal – Active	\$360
Renewal – Retired	\$180
Renewal – Inactive	\$180
Late Fees for Licensees and Clinic Owner Non licensed October	\$100
Late Fees for Licensees and Clinic Owner Non licensed November	\$200
Late Fees for Licensees and Clinic Owner Non licensed December	\$300
Reinstatement /	\$180
Administrative Penalty	\$2,500
Preceptor Dr. (per month)	\$25
Disciplinary Fines	\$4,000
	\$2,000
	\$1,000
Disciplinary Costs	Actual Costs
CCE Provider/ course approval application	\$90
License Verification	\$15
Copies (Other)	see ASBCE public records access policy

Online Seminars

The seminars listed below have been approved by the Alabama Board for CCE
**NOTE only 6 hours of these approved courses may be used for renewal <u>plus</u> any
Alabama Law you are <u>required</u> to take.

- <u>A + Chiropractic</u> offers the following ONLINE course. For information contact Kristin Frymoyer at 563-884-5466.
 - ACTIVATOR METHODS ONLINE: 50 YEARS OF CLINICAL OBSERVATIONS—4 HOURS expires OCTOBER 27, 2024.

ASCA offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Ashley Munsterman at 877-788-2883.

- 1. ALABAMA CONTINUING EDUCATION ONLINE SEMINAR I 4 HOURS expires JULY 16, 2024.
- 2. ALABAMA CONTINUING EDUCATION ONLINE SEMINAR II 4 HOURS expires JULY 16, 2024.

<u>CCED Seminars</u> offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Monte Horne, DC at 903-243-3372.

- 1. CASE STUDIES & CLINICAL PEARLS 201 2 HOURS expires JULY 14, 2024.
- CASE STUDIES & CLINICAL PEARLS 202, 204, 205 6 HOURS expires JULY 14, 2024.
- 3. CASE STUDIES & CLINICAL PEARLS 203 206 4 HOURS expires JULY 14, 2024.

<u>Cleveland University-Kansas City</u> offers the following ONLINE course. For information contact April Allegro at 866-411-4825.

1. SPECIFIC PROPRIOCEPTIVE RESPONSE TECHNIQUE: TAPING STRATEGIES FOR THE ANKLE AND FOOT— 2 HOURS expires October 14, 2024.

<u>Cleveland University-Kansas City</u> offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Christina Brillante at 1-631-241-6717.

- 1. ACCIDENT RECONSTRUCTION: CAUSALITY, BODILY INJURY, FORCE COEFFICIENTS AND EQUATION—8 HOURS expires AUGUST 5. 2024.
- 2. CASE MANAGEMENT SPINAL MRI AND DOCUMENTATION -15 HOURS expires JULY 21, 2024.
- 3. CODING AND CARE PLAN FROM ACUTE THROUGH REHA-BILITATION—3 HOURS expires AUGUST 14, 2024.
- 4. CODING, DOCUMENTATION, MRI & DIGITIZING 12 HOURS expires JULY 21, 2024.
- 5. CONCUSSION AND TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY—10 HOURS expires JULY 10, 2024.
- 6. EDUCATING THE LAWYER, CHIROPRACTIC LEGAL 12 HOURS ETHICS expires JULY 14, 2024.

- 7. EXTREMITY MRI & X-RAY INTERPRETATION 27 HOURS expires JULY 28, 2024.
- 8. IMPAIRMENT RATING SPINE & NERVOUS SYSTEM 2 HOURS expires AUGUST 4, 2024.
- INTERPROFESSIONAL HOSPITAL BASED SPINE CARE 2 HOURS expires June 14, 2025.
- 10.MEDICAL LEGAL INSURANCE DOCUMENATION COLOSSUS TO THE COURTROOM 3 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 2, 2024.
- 11. MILD TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY- TRAUMATIC BRAIN INJURY CONCUSSION 25 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 2, 2024.
- 12.MRI SPINE INTERPRETATION BASICS 3 HOURS expires AUGUST 5, 2024.
- MRI SPINE CREDENTIALING 25 HOURS expires AUGUST 15, 2024.
- 14. MRI SPINE GRAND ROUNDS 20 HOURS expires DECEMBER 20, 2024.
- 15. PATHOBIOMECHANICS AND DOCUMENTATION 8 HOURS expires DECEMBER 20, 2024.
- 16. PATIENT INTAKE HISTORY & EXAMINATION—2 HOURS expires JULY 24, 2024.
- 17. PRIMARY SPINE CARE 10: CHIROPRACTIC SPINE MANAGEMENT 12 HOURS expires DECEMBER 20, 2024.
- 18. PRIMARY SPINE CARE SPINAL BIOMECHANICAL PATHOLOGY & COLLABORATIVE MANAGEMENT—12 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 4, 2024.
- 19. PRIMARY SPINE CARE 15 ETHICS, STREAMLINING, DOCUMENTATION & CASE MANAGEMENT 15 HOURS expires NOVEMBER 12, 2024.
- 20. REIMBURSEMENT GUIDELINES AND DOCUMENTATION 3 HOURS expires JULY 27, 2024.
- 21. SPINAL BIOMECHANICAL ENGINEERING 16 HOURS expires AUGUST 5, 2024.
- 22. SPINAL DISC & LIGAMENTS NEUROLOGY & PATHOLOGY— 7 HOURS expires AUGUST 16, 2024.
- 23. TESTIFYING 4: CREATING ETHICAL FINANCIAL RELATIONSHIPS 10 HOURS expires JULY 22, 2024.
- 24. TRIAGE AND COMPLIANCE-DOCUMENTATION & DIAGNOS-ING ONLINE 3 HOURS expires OCTOBER 7, 2024.

<u>DC HOURS</u> OFFERS THE FOLLOWING ONLINE COURSES. FOR INFORMATION CONTACT TRACI NEWTON AT 262-955-8446.

- ALABAMA RULES PART 1 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE- A BASIC OVERVIEW 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 3. ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE- A NUTRITIONAL APPROACH 1 HOUR

Online Seminars Continued

- expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 4. ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE- PATIENT SUPPORT 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 5. BASIC MRI PART 1 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 6. BASIC MRI PART 2 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 7. BASIC MRI PART 3 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- CERVICOGENIC HEADACHE 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 9. CHIROPRACTIC ETHICS 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 10. CONDITIONS OF THE DISC PART 1 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 11. CONDITIONS OF THE DISC PART 2 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 12. CONDITIONS OF THE DISC PART 3 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 13. DOCUMENTATION 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- EVALUATION AND TREATMENT OF INHIBITED AND HYPERTONIC MUSCLES 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 15. HEALTHCARE COMPLIANCE 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 16. INSURANCE CODING 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30,
- 17. MIGRAINE HEADACHE 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 18. NEUROPLASTICITY PART 1- A BASIC OVERVIEW 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 19. NEUROPLASTICITY PART 2 BRAIN WAVES ARE A WINDOW TO THE BRAIN 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 20. NEUROPLASTICITY PART 3- THE IMPORTANCE OF SLEEP 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- NEUROPLASTICITY PART 4 THE EFFECTS OF SUBLUXATION AND STRESS IN BRAIN 1 HOUR expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 22. POST TRAUMATIC HEADACHES 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30.
- 23. TENSION TYPE HEADACHES 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 24. SEXUAL BOUNDARIES 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 25. THE ART OF MUSCLE TESTING 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024..
- TRIGGER POINT THERAPY 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.
- 27. UNDERSTANDING WHIPLASH PART 2 2 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 30, 2024.

Fetterman Events offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Kris Fetterman at 517-997-6616.

- 1.AVOIDING MALPRACTICE: PREVENTING MEDICAL ERRORS & RISK MANAGEMENT—12 HOURS expires OCTOBER 12, 2024.
- 2.CHALLENGES IN TREATING AND MANAGING CERVICAL RADICULOPATHIES 6 HOURS expires DECEMBER 20, 2024.
- 3.DISCOVER THE POTENTIAL OF NITRIC OX-IDE—4 HOURS expires OCTOBER 19, 2024.
- 4. FOUNDATIONS OF FUNCTIONAL MEDICINE WITH A FOCUS ON INFLAMMATION 12 HOURS expires DECEMBER 14, 2024.
- 5. INSURANCE & YOUR OFFICE 12 HOURS LIVE STREAM NOVEMBER 2, 2024.
- 6. OUTCOME ASSESSMENT TOOLS 12 HOURS LIVE STREAM DECEMBER 12, 2024.
- 7. THE STRESS RESPONSE EFFECT ON THE VSC 4 HOURS expires NOVEMBER 4, 2024.
- 8. TREATING COMMON SPORTS INJURIES 4 HOURS <u>LIVE STREAM</u> December 14, 2024.
- ⁹.UNLOCKING THE SECRETS OF BILLING & CODING MASTERY 6 HOURS expires JULY 6, 2024.

<u>Georgia Council of Chiropratic</u> presents the following course. For information contact Katrine Frazier at 678-6674567.

"ATLANTA SUMMER CE CONFERENCE" 19 HOURS expires JUNE 22, 2024.

ICPA offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Siobhan Nield at 610-565-2360.

- NAVIGATING THE HIGHS AND LOWS OF THE PERINTAL FAMILY PRACTICE—4 HOURS expires OCTOBER 12, 2024.
- 2. POSTPARTUM CARE: IMPROVING DIAPHRAGM, CORE, AND PELVIC FLOOR FUNCTION 5 HOURS expires SEP-TEMBER 26, 2024.
- 3.PRACTICAL NEUROLOGY OF THE VSC & ADVANCED DROP TECHNIQUE –12 HOURS expires OCTOBER 13., 2024.
- 4. SYMPATHETIC DOMINANCE IN PERINATAL & PEDIATRIC POPULATIONS—4 HOURS expires JULY 20, 2024.

Online Seminars Continued

<u>Life University</u> offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Laura Wallace at 1-770-426-2753.

- ANCILLARY DIAGNOSTIC TESTING PROCEDURES 6 HOURS expires OCTOBER 31, 2024.
- 2. CHIROPRACTIC GUIDE TO SYMPTOMS AND DISEASE 6 HOURS expires OCTOBER 31, 2024.
- 3. CURRENT TRENDS IN CHIROPRACTIC PRACTICE AND TREAT MENT 6 HOURS expires OCTOBER 31, 2024.
- 4. GUIDE TO CONTEMPORARY WEIGHT LOSS AND FITNESS 6 HOURS expires OCTOBER 31, 2024.
- 5. GUIDE TO SPORTS INJURY TREATMENT & SPORTS PERFORMANCE 6 HOURS expires OCTOBER 31, 2024.
- PAIN MANAGEMENT 6 HOURS expires OCTOBER 31, 2024.
- TRIGGER POINT THERAPY 6 HOURS expires OCTOBER 31, 2024.

<u>Life West</u> offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Kasey Hua at 510-780-4500.

- PATIENT CENTERED CHIRO DELIVERING QUALITY CARE FROM START TO FINISH 4 HOURS expires AUGUST 18, 2024.
- 2. THE WAVE 2023 online and recording 10 hours Expires December 10, 2024.
- 3. SCIATICA SOLUTIONS: INTEGRATING MULTIMODAL APPROACHES IN CHIROPRACTIC 6 hours expires June 16, 2025

Northeastern College of Health Sciences offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Katrina Andre at 516-597-3551.

- 1. ACTIVE RELEASE TECHNIQUE- ADVANCED FULL BODY 3 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 10, 2024.
- 2. CSP CERTIFICATION SERIES expires AUGUST 14, 2024.
- CLASS IV LASER THERAPY PHOTOBIOMODULATION COURSE— 4 HOURS expires AUGUST 31, 2024.
- MODULE 933: BOARD REVIEW ISCN 2023 18 HOURS expires AUGUST 26, 2024.

Northwestern offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Tara Dittbenner at 952-885-5446.

- 1. HORMONE ADVANCED PRACTICE MODULE: RE-ESTABLISHING HORMONAL BALANCE IN THE HYPOTHALAMIC, PITUITARY, ADRENAL, THYROID AND GONADAL AXIS 20 HOURS JULY 12 14 LIVESTREAM WEBINAR.
- BIONENERGENETICS ADVANCED PRACTICE MODULE: CLINICAL SOLUTIONS FOR MITOCHONDRIAL AND METABOLIC DYSFUNC-TION 16 HOURS AUGUST 16-17 <u>LIVESTREAM</u> WEBINAR.

<u>Palmer</u> offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Hannah Smith at 563-884-5715.

 CHIROPRACTIC DOCUMENTATION—4 HOURS expires JUNE 6, 2025.

- 2. CHIROPRACTIC RED FLAGS- 1 HOUR expires JUNE 6, 2025.
- CORE + PELVIC FLOOR CARE 1 HOUR expires JUNE 6, 2025.
- ETHICS AND PROFESSIONAL BOUNDARIES FOR THE CHIRO-PRACTOR - 1 HOUR expires JUNE 6, 2025.
- PAIN GUIDELINES: PERFORMANCE 2 HOURS expires JUNE 6, 2025.
- STROKE AND CHIROPRACTIC CARE 1 HOUR expires JUNE 6, 2025.
- 7. THE 411 OF AAA 1 HOUR expires JUNE 6, 2025.
- 8. THE BRAIN, PAIN, AND THE NEUROPLASTIC EFFECTS OF CHIROPRACTIC CARE 5 HOURS expires JUNE 6, 2025.
- PREVENTING CLINICAL ERRORS IN PRACTICE 2 HOURS expires JUNE 11, 2025.

Palmer offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Taylor Copp at 563-884-5715.

- ACTIVATOR METHODS TMD / TMJ AND CRANIAL ADJUST-ING—4 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 1, 2024.
- 2. ACTIVATOR METHODS—GERIATRICS 4 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 1, 2024.
- ACTIVATOR METHODS THE SIMPLE PLAN-7 HABITS FOR HEALTHY LIVING 12 HOURS expires SEPTEMBER 1, 2024.

<u>Palmer</u> offers the following ONLINE courses. For information contact Kristin Frymoyer at 563-884-5466.

- 1. ACTIVATOR METHODS: ACTIVATOR FOR ANIMALS 4 HOURS expires OCTOBER 27, 2024.
- 2. ACTIVATOR METHODS: ACTIVATOR FOR PEDIATRICS 4 HOURS expires OCTOBER 27, 2024.
- 3. ACTIVATOR METHODS: ADVANCED TESTS 12 HOURS expires OCTOBER 28, 2024.
- ACTIVATOR METHODS: MULTI RADIANCE SUPER PULSE LASER CERTIFICATION COURSE 12 HOURS expires OCTOBER 28, 2024.
- 5. ACTIVATOR METHODS: NCMIC CERTIFICATION COURSE 4 HOURS expires OCTOBER 28, 2024.

Sherman College of Chiropractic offers the following ONLINE course. For information contact Amy Brademann at (864) 578-8770

1. UNDERSTANDING THERMOGRAPHY DEVELOPING A PATTERN FOR THE UPPER CERVICAL PRACTITIONER 10 HOURS expires September 1, 2024.

NOTE only 6 hours of these approved online courses may be used for renewal plus any

Alabama Law you are required to take.

190-X-1-.18 Fees. Fees shall be as follows:

1. License Application Fee

\$150

An applicant for a license shall submit to the Board the application fee of \$150.00.

2. Exam Application Fee

\$150

An applicant for licensure or permit must submit an examination fee in the amount of \$150.00.

3. Original License or Permit

\$90

An applicant for a license or permit shall submit to the Board the initial issuance fee of \$90.00.

4. Clinic Owner Non Licensed

\$360

An applicant for a permit shall submit to the Board an initial—or renewal application as prescribed by the Board, along with a permit fee in the amount of \$360.00.

5. Permit or License Replacement or Duplicate

\$90

The fee for any replacement permit or license shall be \$90.00. Upon request, a duplicate chiropractic license or amount of \$90.00.

6. Renewal-Active

\$360

The annual license renewal fee is \$360.00.

7. Renewal-Retired

\$180

The annual fee for maintenance of a retired license is \$180.00.

8. Renewal-Inactive

\$180

The annual fee for an inactive license is \$180.00

9. Late Fees for Licensees and Clinic

Owner Non Licensed

\$100 - \$300

The late penalty for renewal during the month of October is one hundred (\$100), for renewal during the month of November is two hundred dollars (\$200) and for renewal during the month of December is three hundred dollars (\$300).

10. Reinstatement

\$180 - 2,500

Any licensee or permit holder who allows his/her license/
permit to lapse past December 31 must apply to the Board for a
reinstatement of the license or permit and must submit to the
Board a reinstatement fee of \$180.00 together with all back
fees including the highest late renewal fee. Any Licensee or
permit holder who allows his/her license/permit to lapse past
January 31 must also pay a penalty in the amount of \$2,500.

11. Preceptor Doctor
\$25/month (\$75/quarter)
Shall submit \$25.00 monthly (payable the first quarter)

```
with the preceptor application and thereafter quarterly
  in advance.)
  12. Disciplinary Fines $1,000-8,000 per violation
  (a) The Board may impose a fine not to exceed $4,000 for each
      violation of any of the following provisions of law govern-
      ing the practice of chiropractic or any rule adopted pursu-
      ant thereto (Class A violations)
        1) Section 34-24-166(b)(1);
       2) Section 34-24-166(b)(2);
        3) Section 34-24-166(b)(3);
        4) Section 34-24-166(b)(4);
        5) Section 34-24-166(b) (5);
        6) Section 34-24-166(b)(6);
       7) Section 34-24-166(b)(9);
        8) Section 34-24-166(b)(10);
        9) Section 34-24-166(b)(11);
-----10) Section 34-24-166(b) (12); and
       11) Section 34-24-166(b)(15);
   (b) The Board may impose a fine not to exceed $1,000 - 8,000
  for each violation of any of the following provisions of law
  governing the practice of chiropractic or any rule adopted pur-
  suant thereto (Class B violations):
       Section 34-24-166(b)(7); and
       Section 34-24-166 (b) (8);
  (c) The Board may impose a fine not to exceed $500-8,000 for
  each violation of any of the following provisions of law govern-
  ing the practice of chiropractic or any rule adopted pursuant
  thereto (Class C violations);
       Section 34-24-166(b)(13);
       Section 34-2 4-166(b)(14);
       Section 34-24-166(b)(16); and
       Section 34-24-166(b)(17)
  13. Costs
  The Board may impose actual costs incurred.
                                                        $50
  14. Annual Directory
  Copies of the directory shall be made available from
  the Executive Director upon the payment of $50 per
  copy.
  15. CCE Provider/Course Approval Application
                                                        $90/
  per Module
  16. 5 Year CCE History
                                                      $25 per
  licensee
  17. Permit holder or Licensee Listing (paper list)
                                                         $50
```

- 18. The following fee schedule will apply to all organizations (except state and local government agencies) requesting information from the licensee or clinic databases:
- (a) A fee of ten cents (\$.10) per record, up to (10) data fields, and a fee of one cent (\$.01) for each data field exceeding ten (10) will be charged. These fees apply to data released via email, mail, or CDROM disks in Microsoft Excel format;
- (b) Additional charges will incur for (but may not be limited to) the cost of CDROM disks (\$2.00) each), actual cost for special paper sizes, flash dive, CD etc. If the requestor is informed in advance, plus postage;
- (c) A minimum total fee of (\$75.00) will be charged for each request. Retrieval and Prep Fee \$20 per hour
- (d) State and Local government agencies will be exempt from all charges except for materials used. These agencies may choose to supply their own CDROM disks and pick up the data, thereby avoiding all charges.
- 19. Mailing Labels (paper)

\$60

20. License Verification

\$15.00

Any permit holder or licensee who requires written verification of his/her Alabama license or permit may request certification upon payment of a fee of \$ 15.00 each.

21. Copy of Rules (paper)

\$50

22. Copies

\$.50 cents/page plus postage

23. NSF

Fee Max allowed by law

Pursuant to Code of Ala. 1975, 8-8-15, this fee must accompany any check, or other negotiable instrument drawn on a bank or other depository institution and made payable to the Board, if the instrument is not paid or is dishonored by the institution.

24. Fee to resend Mail

\$25

25. Rule Subscription

\$10 (annual subscription)

26. Licensure by Credentials

(a) Application Fee

\$1,200

(b) Application Hearing Fee (if applicable)

\$2,000

Dates to Calendar Board Meetings / Hearings:

> July 12, 2024 – hearing scheduled Clanton Board Office

> **August 2, 2024 Clanton Board Office**



2024 STATE HOLIDAYS

The Board Office will be closed on the following:

Independence Day

July 4





OUR MISSION

To regulate and license doctors of chiropractic in order to protect the people of Alabama.

OUR VISION

To ensure the people of Alabama will receive professional, ethical and quality care in utilizing chiropractic services to maximize health benefits.

OUR VALUES

Excellence, integrity, communication and ethics.

Board Members

Matthew Youngblood, DC, Preceptor Director, Member District 1
Lori Ann McMillian, DC, Member District 2
Brian Wells, DC, President, District 3
Renee Philpot-Bowen, DC, Vice President, District 4
Gregory Millar, DC, District 5
Bradford "Brad" F. Russell, DC, Member District 6
Kenneth Randolph, DC, Secretary / Treasurer, District 7
Kimberly Ogletree, DC, African American
John Segrest, Consumer Member

E-mails

CHIROPRACIE CHIROP

amy.deavers@chiro.alabama.gov
Kerry.forbus@chiro.alabama.gov
Angie.johnson@chiro.alabama.gov
Kelli.smith@chiro.alabama.gov

ASBCE 126 CHILTON PLACE CLANTON, AL 35045

AMY DEAVERS
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

KERRY FORBUS EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT II

ANGIE JOHNSON KELLI SMITH ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANTS

> STEVEN BROM BOARD ATTORNEY

WELLNESS HOTLINE PHONE (800) 949-5838 (205) 755-8000

FAX (205) 755-0081