## Alabama State Board of Chiropractic Examiners Certified Adopted Rule

## <u>190-X-2-.02 Expedited License to Practice Chiropractic For</u> Military Members And Spouses.

(1) The intent of this rule is to provide for the expedited issuance of a license to practice chiropractic to military service members and the spouses of military service members who are relocated to and stationed in Alabama and who are also qualified chiropractors.

(2) The board, at its discretion and pursuant to this rule, may issue a temporary license to practice chiropractic to a chiropractic applicant who is relocated to or stationed in this state under official military orders and who satisfies any of the following:

(a) Is an active duty, reserve, or transitioning member of the United States Armed Forces, including the National Guard;
(b) Is the spouse of an active duty, reserve, or transitioning member of the United States Armed Forces, including the National Guard; or
(c) Is the surviving spouse of a service member who, at the time of his or her death, was serving on active duty.

(3) For the purposes of this rule, a transitioning service member is a member of the United States Armed Forces, including the National Guard, on active duty status or on separation leave who is within 24 months of retirement or 12 months of separation.

(4) A chiropractor must satisfy the requirements of paragraph (2) by providing the following:

(a) The active or reserve service member's official
military orders;

(b) The transitioning service member's DD Form 214 or NGB Form 22; or

(c) The deceased service member's DD Form 214 or NGB Form 22 and death certificate if the chiropractor is the spouse of a service member; and

(d) A marriage certificate substantiating marriage to the service member if the chiropractor is the spouse of a service member.

(5) A chiropractor may receive a temporary license issued under paragraph (2) if he or she satisfies the requirements of paragraph (2) to the satisfaction of the board, and presents evidence satisfactory to the board of all of the following:

(a) Possession of a full and unrestricted license to

## Alabama State Board of Chiropractic Examiners Certified Adopted Rule

practice chiropractic issued by the appropriate chiropractic licensing board of another state, the District of Columbia, a territory of the United States, or a province of Canada; (b) Must meet the criteria allowed in Code of Alabama 1975, 34-24-160 (d) and (e) (c) Has never been convicted, received adjudication, community supervision, or deferred disposition of any felony offense or any crime related to fraud, violence, sexual violations, or the practice of chiropractic; (d) Has never had his or her chiropractic license subjected to discipline by a licensing agency in any state, federal, or foreign jurisdiction, excluding any action related to the non-payment of fees related to a license; (e) Is not currently under investigation by a licensing agency or law enforcement authority in any state, federal, or foreign jurisdiction; and (f) Is a United States citizen, a national of the United States, or an alien lawfully present in the United States. (6) A chiropractor who is issued a temporary license under this rule shall apply for a permanent license pursuant to Code of Alabama 1975, 34-24-160, within 12 months after the issuance of a temporary license. (a) A temporary license issued under these rules shall expire 12 months after the date of issuance if an application for a license pursuant to Code of AL 1975 34-24-160 has not been received by the board. (b) Applicants for a temporary license under this rule shall not be required to pay the initial application fee. (c) A temporary license may be issued by the Executive Director of the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, or his or her designee, upon his or her satisfaction and certification of the requirements set forth in this rule. (d) The temporary license shall clearly indicate that it is a temporary license for military service members or their spouses.

Author: Alabama Board of Chiropractic Examiners Statutory Authority: Code of Alabama, (1975) § 34-24-162, §34-24-144 and State of Alabama Act 2022-92 History: New Rule: Published July 29, 2022; effective December 15, 2022