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Dear colleagues and clinic owners: 
 

I would like to welcome our newest 

member, Mrs. Patricia Wilson, to the 

Board.  Mrs. Wilson was appointed to 

the Consumer Member position in 

early January.  I am sure she will be a 

great addition to the Board. 

 

The Board has a bill in the legislature 

with several housekeeping changes. 

We worked with the ASCA to answer 

their concerns and they support the 

legislation as amended. At the writing 

of this message the legislature is on 

break and will reconvene on April 2, 

2013. We ask for your support of this 

legislation. 

 

The Board has received calls about the 

use of Groupon and Social Living. 

While presenting the Alabama Law 

Seminar in Florida in February I was 

given important information regard-

ing advertisements on Groupon and 

Living Social websites.  The Office 

Of Inspector General (OIG) has ren-

dered an opinion regarding the use 

concerning Medicare and Federal 

programs. The opinion states that 

health care providers who utilize the 

services of these companies are en-

gaging in fee splitting under Federal 

kickback laws. 

The leasing out of your office to an-

other entity to engage your patients 

for financial reimbursement is also 

considered fee splitting. This would 

include DME companies that are 

constantly contacting our offices for 

our services. 

 

 
Gerald Collins, D.C. 
President ASBCE 

Presidential Message 
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Alabama Law Hours Required for All Licensees 
 

Per an amendment to  RULE 190-X-2-.11 Renewal of License  effective 

March 6, 2013 all licensees except those with a retired -R status are re-

quired to obtain 2 hours of Alabama Law as part of the 18 continuing  

education hours required for renewal.  This includes  

active and inactive licensees, in or out of Alabama. 

 First year licensees must obtain 4 hours. 
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CE 4 You offers  the  following  ONLINE  courses until 
December 2013. For information contact Richard Schmitt 

at 1-301-717-7178. 

1. “AIDS and Infectious Disease” 
2. “Coding & Documentation” 

3. “Extremity Adjusting” 
4. “Faulty Movement Patterns” 

5. “Low Tech Rehab in Whiplash” 
6. “Radiology in Practice” 

7. “Rehabilitation of the Athlete” 

8. “Spinal Trauma” 
 

CE 4 You offers  the  following  ONLINE  courses until 
August 2013. For information contact Richard Schmitt at 1

-301-717-7178. 

1. “Integrative Myofascial Release” 
2. “The Perinatal and Pediatric Practice” 

 
DCHours.com offers the following ONLINE courses until 

December 2013. For information contact Debbie Bender. 
at 1-800-811-0269 or click  https://ahs.prosperitylms.com/

req/ahs_student/index.cfm?prog=18 for a list of all DC 

Hours courses approved by Alabama and for registration. 
 

1. “Alabama Board Rules & Regulations” 
2. “Basic MRI Part I” 

3. “Basic MRI Part II” 

4. “Basic MRI Part III” 
5. “Spinal Decompression” 

6. “Spinal Pain Syndromes” 
7. “The Neurology of Pain” 
 

DC Online offers the following  ONLINE  courses until 

December  2013.  For  information   contact  William Mo-
reau, D.C. at 1-712-260-2507. 

1. “Active Care of the Lumbar Spine” 
2. “Alabama Board Rules & Regulations” 

3. “Assessment & Management of the Hip for the 

Health Care Provider” 
4. “Bloodborne Pathogens” 

5. “Chiropractic & Soft Tissue Care” 
6. “Immunization, Making Informed Choices” 

7. “Physical Assessment & Management of the Knee” 

8. “Professional Boundaries & Chiropractic” 
9. “Recognizing Skin Conditions” 

10. “Risk Management” 
11. “Segmental Drop Adjusting” 

12. “Special Populations in Chiropractic: The Osteopo-

rotic Patient” 
13. “Spine in Sports” 
 

 

Logan College of Chiropractic offers  the following  
ONLINE  courses until  December 2013.  For information 

contact Ralph Barrale, D.C. at 1-800-842-3234. 
 

1. “Posture Practice Online 2013” 

New York Chiropractic College  offers the following 
ONLINE courses until May 2013. For information contact 

Cynthia Logatto at 1-516-796-5923. 
 

1. “Master of Science Human Anatomy, Physiology: 
Urinary System, Acid / Base Balance Repro” 

2. “Master Science Human Anatomy & Physiology 
Inst: Integumentary, Skeletal,  Muscular System” 

 
 

Northwestern Health Science offers the following 

ONLINE courses until December 2013. For information 

contact Sara George at 1-952-885-5446. 
1. “Foundations of Evidence  Informed  Practice: 

Using Research in Practice” 
2. “Foundations of Evidence Informed Practice: 

Overview” 
3. “Foundations of Evidence Informed Practice: 

Types of Research” 

4. “Informed Practice: Understanding Research” 
 

Palmer College of Chiropractic offers the following 

ONLINE courses until December 2013. For information 

contact Kati Sproston at 1-563-884-5715. 
1. “Activator Methods Track 1” 

2. “Clinical Imaging (6)” 
3. “Orthopedic Assessment & Interpretation” 

 

Southern California University of Health Sciences 
offers the following ONLINE courses until December 2013. 

For information contact Yvonne Rabago at 1-562-902-
3373. 

1. “Functional Diagnostic Medicine Training Program 

2013 Mod 3” 
 

Texas Chiropractic College offers the following ONLINE  
courses  until December 2013.  For information contact 

Keiria Proctor, at 1-800-533-9822. 
1. “Benefits of Spinal Manipulation” 

2. “Bone   Physiology:    Calcium    &   Phosphorus 

Metabolism“ 
3. “Cervical Ligament Injury” 

4. “Chiropractic  Treatment  of  Auto Accident Injuries” 
5. “Chiropractic Treatment of Golf Injuries” 

6. “Dermatology in Chiropractic Practice” 

7. “Diagnosis & Clinical Issues Group” 
8. “Documentation: Doctor & Patient Protection” 

9. “Evaluation of Whiplash Injuries” 
10.“Exercise Strength & Conditioning” 

11.“Fundamentals of Clinical Nutrition” 
12.“Managing the Employee” 

13.“Maximum Medical Improvement & Apportionment” 

14.“Narrative Report Writing” 
15.“Ominous Findings in the Head Pain Patient” 

16.“Pain Management” 
17.“Personal Injury Practice Series” 

18.“Preparation Tips for Trials & Deposition” 

19.“Spinal Cord Tumors & Myelopathy” 

https://ahs.prosperitylms.com/req/ahs_student/index.cfm?prog=18
https://ahs.prosperitylms.com/req/ahs_student/index.cfm?prog=18
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Condolences 
 

Dr. Jerry Wayne Tuggle.   Dr. Tuggle graduated  Palmer Chiro-

practic College in 1962 and received his Alabama license in 

1962.  He lived and practiced in Cullman, Alabama.   
 

The Board and staff send condolences to the family and friends 

of Dr. Tuggle. 

Renewal Reminder  

Please submit your certificates of attendance for continuing education to the Board as 

soon as you receive them.  This makes the renewal process much easier.  It is your re-

sponsibility to ensure your hours are submitted to the Board.  Also, if you have already 

purchased your Section 136 Business License for the year 2012-13 please fax it to 205-

755-0081 or email it to debra.darnell@chiro.alabama.gov.  

20.The Temporomandibular Joint” 
21.“Treatment Plans” 

22.“Trials, Arbitrations & Mediations” 

23.“Weight Loss Management: Fitness &  
     Nutrition” 

 
University of Bridgeport College of Chiropractic  

offers the following ONLINE courses until December 2013. 
For information contact Paul Powers, DC at 1-860-463-

9003. 

1. “Acupuncture 201” 
2. “Biomechanics” 

3. “Coding & Documentation 203” 
4. “Evidence Based Outcomes 210” 

5. “Manipulation 104” 

6. “Physical Diagnosis 136” 
7. “Physical Therapy 101” 

8. “Soft Tissue Injuries 115” 
9. “National Registry Certified Medical Examiner 301” 

10. “National Registry Certified Medical Examiner 302” 
11. “National Registry Certified Medical Examiner 303” 

12. “National Registry Certified Medical Examiner 304” 

 

The Board no longer mails Re-

newal Cards or Clinic Per-

mits.  You now log in to the 

same website you used to 

complete the renewal and 

click “Print Renewal Card” 

to print your card at anytime 

during the year.  

When the PDF opens you may 

also save the file to your  

 computer.  

REMINDER 
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East Tennessee Chiropractic Association presents the 
following courses. For information contact James 

Schroder, DC at 1-423-476-4751. 

“Chiropractic and Anti-Aging” 6 hours April 6-7 in 
Knoxville, TN, April 20-21 in Memphis, TN, April 25 in 

Ashville, NC, April 27-28 in Charlotte, NC and June 29
-30 in New Orleans, LA.  

“Masters Extremity Adjusting-Upper” 6 hours April 4 in 
Johnson City, TN, April 6-7 in Knoxville, TN, April 20-

21 in Memphis, TN, April 25 in Ashville, NC, April 27-

28 in Charlotte, NC and June 29-30 in New Orleans, 
LA.  

“Masters Scoliosis & Spine Adjusting” 6 hours April 4 
in Johnson City, TN, April 6-7 in Knoxville, TN, April 

20-21 in Memphis, TN, April 25 in Ashville, NC, April 

27-28 in Charlotte, NC and June 29-30 in New Orle-
ans, LA.  

 
East West Acupuncture Seminars presents the follow-

ing course. For information contact Kim Dorsey, DC. at 1-
801-621-4989. 

“100   Hour   Acupuncture   Certification  Course”  

April 5-7 in Birmingham, AL. 
 

Life Chiropractic College West presents the following 
course. For  information  contact Kendra L. Holloway,  DC  

at 1-510-780-4508. 
“Validating   Chiropractic  2013“  13  hours  April 13-

14 in Coraopolis, PA, April 27-28 in Los Angeles, CA, 

May 4 –5 in King of Prussia, PA, May 18-19 in Sacra-
mento, CA and June 22-23 in Emeryville, CA. 

 

Life  University presents  the  following  courses.  For 

information contact Katy Stavovy at 770-426-2753. 
“Bio-Geometric Integration 1”  18 hours April 19-21 in 

Oakland, CA, May 24-26 in Marietta, GC and June 14-

16 in Whittier, CA. 
CCEP - Certified Chiropractic Extremity Practitioner 

Module 7”  105 hours April 13-14, May 4-5 and June 
1-2 in Marietta, GA. 

“Enhancing Patient Care & Professional Integration 

Through Strategic Planning”  13 hours April 5-6 in 
Columbus, OH and April 26-27 in Wisconsin Dells, 

WI. 
“Spinal Correction Workshop”  12 hours April 12-13 in 

Celebration, FL. 
 

Logan College of Chiropractic presents the following 

courses.  For   information  contact  Ralph  Barrale, DC at 
1-800-842-3234. 

“14th Annual Enzyme Nutrition Conference”  15.5 
hours May 3-5 in Branson, MO. 

“2013 Pro sport Educational Seminar” 13 hours May 
4-5 in San Antonio TX. 

“Advanced   Training  in  Class  IV  Laser   Therapy” 

8 hours April 27 and June 22 in Franklin, TN. 
“Homecoming 2013 & Midwest Conference” 32 hours 

June 13-16 in Chesterfield, MO. 
“Loomis Institute of Enzyme Nutrition Seminar 2” 22 

hours April 12-14 in Jeffersonville, IN. 
  

National University of Health Sciences presents the 

following courses.  For  information  contact  Jonathan R. 
Soltys, DC at 1-630-889-6622. 

“Illuminating the Energy Spectrum: Exploring the 
Evidence & Emerging” 20.5 hours May 30 and June 1 

in Dallas, TX. 

“The Cox Technic System for Spine Pain Relief Part 
III” 12 hours June 22-23 in Philadelphia, PA. 

“The Cox Technic System for Spine Pain Relief Parts 
I & II” 30 hours April 18-21 in Ft. Wayne IN. 

 
New York Chiropractic College presents the following 

courses.  For  information  contact  Cynthia   Logatto at 

1-516-796-5923 
“Active  Release  Technique  - Active  Palpation 

Technique” 21 hours May 16-19 in Las Vegas, NV. 
“Active  Release Technique  -  Active  Palpation 

Technique - Course with SFMA” 28 hours June 6-9 in 

Iselin, NJ. 
“Active  Release Technique  -  Long Tract  Nerve 

Entrapment” 8 hours  April 13 in Vancouver, BC, 
April 20 in Lakewood, NJ, May 18 in Las Vegas, NV 

and June 8 in Minneapolis, MN. 

“Active Release Technique-Active Lower Extremity” 
24 hours May 2-5 in Orlando, FL. 

“Active   Release  Technique  -   Masters  Course” 
4.5 hours  April 6  in  Montreal,  QC,  April  13  in 

Chicago, IL, April  27 in  Portland, OR,  May  4 in 
Orlando, FL and June 1 in Santa Clara, CA. 

“Active Release Technique  -  Recertification Course” 

12 hours April 6-7 in Lakewood, NJ and May 18-19 in 
Auburn, NY. 

“Active  Release  Technique  -   Upper   Extremity” 
24 hours April 4-7 in Montreal, QC, May 30 and June 

2 in Santa Clara, CA, June 6-9 in Iselin, NJ and June 

27-30 in Nashville, TN. 
“Neuromechanical Innovations-Impulse Adjusting 

Systems Extremities Module” 12 hours April 20-21 in 
Chicago, IL and April 27-18 in Denver, CO. 

“Neuromechanical Innovations-Impulse Adjusting 
Systems Pelvis & Spine” 12 hours May 4-5 in New 

Orleans, LA, June 1-2 in Detroit, MI and June 8-9 in 
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Toronto, ON. 
“Active Release Techniques” 21 hours April 11-14 in 

Chicago, IL, April 25-28 in Portland, OR and May 16

-19 in Las Vegas, NV. 
  

Northwestern Health Sciences presents the follow-
ing courses:  For  information  contact  Sara George at 

1-952-885-5446. 
“Health Source Super Camp” 12 hours April 19-21 in 

Dallas, TX. 
“Light Up Your Practice”  12  hours  April 20-21 in 

Birmingham, AL. 
 

Palmer College of Chiropractic presents the follow-

ing courses:  For  information  contact  Kati  Sproston at 
1-563-884-5715. 

“Activator  Methods  Spring 2013:    Basic” 12 hours 
each:  April 6-7 in  Chicago,  IL,  April  13-14  in 

Atlanta, GA, April 20-21 in Boston, MA, April 27-28 

in Detroit, MI, May 4-5 in Philadelphia, PA, June 1-2 
in Minneapolis, MN and June 8-9 in Calgary, Alber-

ta. 
“Activator  Methods Spring 2013:  Basic” 12 hours 

each:  January 26-27 in Orlando, FL, February 2-3 
in Houston, TX, February 7-9  in  Honolulu,  HI, 

February 16-17 in Sacramento, CA, March 2-3 in 

Columbus, OH, March 9-10 in Kansas City, KS, 
March 16-17 in San Diego, CA and Portland, OR, 

and March 23-24 in Denver, CO. 
“Activator  Methods Spring 2013:  Intermediate”   

12 hours each: April 6-7 in Chicago, IL, April 13-14 

in Atlanta, GA, April 20-21 in Boston , MA, April 27-
28 in Los Angeles, CA & Detroit, MI, May 4-5 in 

Philadelphia, PA, June 1-2 in Minneapolis, MN and 
June 8-9 in Calgary Alberta. 

“Activator  Methods Spring 2013:  Advanced”       
12 hours each: April 6-7 in Chicago, IL, April 13-14 

in Atlanta, GA, April 20-21 in Boston , MA, April 27-

28 in Los Angeles, CA & Detroit, MI, May 4-5 in 
Philadelphia, PA, June 1-2 in Minneapolis, MN and 

June 8-9 in Calgary Alberta. 
“Dr. David Palmer Athletic Trust 2nd Annual Sports 

& Chiropractic Symposium” 12 hours each: April 12-

14 in Davenport, IA. 
“Graston Technique-M1 Basic Training” 12 hours 

each: May 4-5 in Davenport, IA and May 11-12 in 
Port Orange, FL. 

“World Fed Chiro Biennial Congress: Chiro under 

the African Sun: Current Principle” 18 hours: April 
11-13 in Durban, South Africa. 

 
Parker University presents the following course. For 

information contact Teresa Wright at 1-800-266-4723. 
“Montreal  Parker  Seminar 2013”  19 hours April 18

-19 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. 

 

Sherman College of Chiropractic  presents  the  
following  courses.  For  information  contact  Adam 

Ashcraft at 1-800-849-8771. 

“Korean Specific” 16  hours April 20-21 in Toronto, 
Canada and May 18-19 in Portland Oregon 

“Lyceum 2013-40 years & still Tic-ing”  56 hours 
May 23-25 in Spartanburg, SC. 

“Pierce Results System Seminar Level 1”  12 hours 
April 12-13 in Marietta, GA. 

 

Southern California University of Health Sciences  
presents the following courses. For information contact 

Yvonne Rabago at 1-562-902-3373. 
“2013  ACCO  Annual  Convention  - Orthopedic 

Essentials” 22 hours April 25-27 in Las Vegas, NV. 

“2013  Chiropractic  Sports  Sciences Symposium” 
33 hours April 18-21 in Colorado Springs, CO. 

“Whiplash Injury Biomechanics & Traumatology 
2013 Module 1” 12 hours  April 6-7 in Charlotte, NC, 

April 20-21 in Las Vegas, NV and April 27-28 in Kan-
sas City, MO. 

“Whiplash Injury Biomechanics & Traumatology 

2013 Module 2” 12 hours May 4-5 in Charlotte, NC, 
May 18-19 in Portland, OR, June 8-9 in Las Vegas, 

NV and June 29-30 in Kansas City, MO. 
“Whiplash Injury Biomechanics & Traumatology 

2013 Module 3” 12 hours June 1-2 in Charlotte, NC 

and June 22-23 in Portland, OR. 
 

Texas Chiropractic College presents the following 
courses. For  information  contact Arely Espitia at 1-281

-998-6061. 

“Living  Well  in  a  Sick  World:   An Integrative 
Approach”  16 hours April 12-14 in St. Louis, MO. 

“Mastering  Nutrition  with  the  Nutritional Exam” 
12 hours May 18-19 in Kennesaw, GA. 

 
Turning  Point   Logistic  Systems  presents  the 

following courses. For  information  contact  Angel  

Tribuno, D.C.  at 1-706-882-2092.  
“Basics of CBP Technique” 12 hours June 29-30 in 

Dearborn, MI. 
“CBP Cervical Spine” 16 hours April 5-7 in Boise, ID. 

“CBP Lumbar Spine” 16 hours May 17-19 in Boise, 

ID. 
“CBP Thoracic Spine” 16  hours June 21-23 in Boise, 

ID. 
“CBP Whiplash Injury”  12  hours April 27-28 in 

Morristown, NJ. 
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Non-Licensed Clinic Permit Required 
Any clinic that provides any type of chiropractic service includ-

ing EMG’s must be properly permitted before the service  

is provided to patients. 

Disciplinary Actions 
 

Sayers, Todd E., DC License # 1455 - Consent order entered finding violation of Code of Al-

abama 1975 34-24-166(b)(3) and (12) and assessing  an administrative fine in the amount of 

$20,000.  
 

HealthSource of West Mobile (Mobile, AL) Permit # A0073 - Consent order entered finding 

violation of Code of Alabama 1975 34-24-166(b)(11) and (14) and assessing  an administra-

tive fine and costs in the amount of $2,000.  

New Face on the Board 
 

 
 
 
 
 
Congratulations to Mrs. Patricia Wilson the Board’s new Consumer Member.   
 

Pat Wilson received a B. A. Degree from Judson College in Marion, Alabama, 
with a major in English and a minor in History. After attending graduate 
school at the University of Alabama, she taught English in Tuscaloosa, Ala-
bama, Blytheville, Arkansas, and Shreveport, Louisiana. She received her 
Master's Degree in Gifted Education from the University of Alabama and 
taught Gifted Education in the Montgomery and Elmore County Public 
Schools. She retired in 2012. 
 

Mrs. Wilson is married to James  Eldon "Jim" Wilson, former United States 
Attorney, Middle District of Alabama. They live in Montgomery, Alabama with 
their miniature dachshund, Lucy, and two cats, Sweet Pea and Target. 



Congratulations to those licensed since January 2013 

Lauren Payne Cobb    of northport, al 
Andrew D’Amato    of Fayetteville, ga 
Perry Harrison     of tuscaloosa, al 
Jerald L. Jones     of enterprise, al 
Amanda Marie kemp    of Prattville, al 
Jo ann melendez    OF daphne, al 
Jill Kerley Palma    of leeds, AL 
Ben Edward weber    of montgomery, al 
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Sales Tax Exemption Clarification 
 

Pillows and DME’s are not sales tax exempt.  This exemption  
applies only to vitamins, minerals, and dietary supplements. 
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THANK YOU FOR YOUR POSITIVE COMMENTS 

 

Thank  you for  taking care  of  gaining  approval  for  the  upcoming  Palmer  Florida Home-
coming.  We really appreciate all that you do to help us.  
 
Dr. Todd Fetter called the Board office  to  wish  the staff a Happy New Year and to tell us 
what a great job we did for the Chiropractic Board.    

Seminars No Longer Retroactively Approved 
Per amended rule RULE 190-X-1-.19 Criteria for Approval of Continuing Education  

(see page 10) seminars will no longer be retroactively approved.  If a seminar has not 

been submitted to the Board and approved prior to your attending you will not receive 

credit for the hours for renewal.  Please ensure when considering a seminar for Continu-

ing Education Credit for renewal the seminar has been approved by the Board.  If you are 

unsure you may contact the sponsor of the seminar and request the 6 digit Alabama ap-

proval code and contact Debra at 800-949-5838 ext. 221 to confirm the number is a valid 

approval number for the upcoming renewal period. 

Also remember when you have completed an approved seminar and have obtained the 

certificate of hours you may fax them to the Board at 205-755-0081.  It is better not to 

wait until you begin the renewal process to submit these.   
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This following rules were adopted and became effective March 6, 2013. 

Please place a copy in your Office Master Copy of the Rules and 

Regulations to avoid future violations of these rules. 

 

RULE 190-X-2-.11 Renewal of License 

 

(1)  Annual Renewal Required.   

Each license shall be subject to renewal on September 30 of the year for which it is issued and every 

person having a valid license may on or before September 30
th

 renew the license for the ensuing year 

by the payment to the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners of the fees set forth below. Each licensee 

shall complete a renewal form provided by the Executive Director of the Board.  Renewal notices will 

be mailed or emailed in August of each year.  

 
(2) Continuing Professional Education Required.  A minimum of 18 hours of continuing education as ap-

proved by the Alabama State Board of Chiropractic Examiners is required annually for license renewal.   

(a) As a condition of licensure renewal, a chiropractor must obtain every year a minimum of two (2) 

hours of continuing education in Board approved courses on chiropractic regulation and compliance 

with the Alabama Chiropractic Practice Act and Board rules. The two (2) hours are included in the 

minimum of 18 hours. 

(b) Any individual who is initially licensed as a chiropractor in this state after October 1, 2011 shall 

complete as part of the continuing education requirement four (4) hours of continuing education in 

Board approved courses on chiropractic regulation and compliance with the Alabama Chiropractic 

Practice Act and Board Rules as a condition of renewal for the year following their initial licensure. 

(d) The requirement set forth in (a) and (b) above may be satisfied by distance based continuing edu-

cation in addition to the distance based education allowed in paragraph (3). 

 

(3) No more than one third (1/3) of the required hours may be completed in a distance based continuing 

education format which complies with the provisions of this rule. Annually shall mean October 1 - Sep-

tember 30 of each year.   

(a.) All providers of distance based continuing education courses must be an entity approved by the 

Board. 

(b.)  Providers shall submit to the Board: 

(aa.) the required fee and a completed FCLB Uniform Continuing Education Application,  

(bb.) Curriculum Vitae of the course instructor(s). 

(cc.) Proof of policies and procedures for implementation and evaluation of the course and the 

educational units. 

(dd.) Electronic records of contact hours awarded to the licensee in a format and method speci-

fied by the Board. 

(4) All seminars, workshops, and / or conventions staged in or out of the State of Alabama must be sub-

mitted to the Board for their approval.  After examination of the subject material, the Board, in its dis-

cretion, may grant credit towards license renewal.  In determining whether credit is granted and the 

number of credit hours granted, the Board shall consider the apparent quality of the material taught 

and its professional value to the practitioner.  

 

The continuing educational requirement for the purpose of license renewal for any person who has 

graduated from a recognized CCE chiropractic college within the licensure year immediately preceding 

the licensure year indicated on the license renewal form except hours required in (2)(b) above may be 

met through attendance at a recognized CCE chiropractic college (a minimum of 18 hours).  This ap-

plies only to the first license renewal period after initial licensing. 

 

During the grace period (October 1 to December 31) for renewal, a licensee may complete any continu-

ing education requirements for renewal that the licensee failed to complete during the prior fiscal year. 
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Hours obtained during the grace period do not qualify or apply to the deferral procedure outlined below. 

Hours must be received in the board office before January 1 to avoid reinstatement. 

 

(5) Educational Requirement May be Waived or Deferred.  

A licensee who cannot complete the continuing educational requirements because of personal illness, 

military service or other circumstances beyond the licensees control which the board deems to be suf-

ficient to impose a hardship may apply for a waiver or deferral of time to complete the continuing edu-

cation requirements.  Any waiver or deferral of time to complete the education requirements will be 

granted solely in the discretion of the board.   

 

A licensee seeking a wavier or deferral must make application on the form provided by the Executive 

Director of the Board, prior to the December 31 license expiration for completion of the education re-

quirement.  For waivers or deferrals due to illness, the application form must be accompanied by a writ-

ten statement from a physician stating the diagnosis, prognosis and length of time the licensee will be 

unable to practice or attend an educational program.  Waivers or deferrals due to illness may be grant-

ed only to a licensee who has suffered a personal illness or personal disability of a nature that prevent-

ed or will prevent him/ her from engaging in the active practice of chiropractic for a significant portion 

of the continuing education period.  

 

All licensees seeking wavier or deferral shall provide full and complete written documentation of the 

grounds supporting the reasons for which a deferral is sought.  A licensee who request a waiver or de-

ferral of time to complete the required hours of continuing education shall not engage in the active 

practice of chiropractic beyond December 31 of any year and until the board grants the licensee's re-

quest for waiver or deferral. 

 

(6) Renewal Fee Required.   

(a) A fee not exceeding $300.00 to be fixed by rule of the Board is required for annual license renewal.  

The renewal fee is $300.00.  This fee may be submitted in cashier’s check, bank certified check, money 

order, or credit card.   

 

(b) A licensee who is prevented from practicing chiropractic by reason of physical disability, temporary 

active duty with any of the armed forces of the United States, or while any licensee is completely re-

tired from the practice of chiropractic may request a waiver or reduction of the fee for annual renewal. 

The waiver or reduction shall be effective so long as the disability, temporary active duty or complete 

retirement continues. Licensee must notify the Board within fifteen (15) days from the onset of any 

claimed physical disability, temporary active duty or complete retirement as set forth above. Licensee 

shall notify the Board within fifteen (15) days when any such condition no longer is applicable. Forms 

for waiver or reduction of fees must be obtained from the Office of the Executive Director. 

 

(7) Late Penalty.  A penalty shall be charged any person who fails to pay the renewal fee by September 

30.  The late penalty for renewal during the month of October is fifty dollars ($50), for renewal during 

the month of November is one hundred dollars ($100) and for renewal during the month of December is 

two hundred and fifty dollars (250). 

(8) Lapsed License.  A chiropractor may continue to practice until December 31 of the year for which a 

license is issued subject to Code of Alabama (1975) Section 34-24-165(b).   

 
Effective:  3/6/90, (1) amended 5/91, (4) amended 8/96, (4) amended 1/97, (1) amended 7/12/97, (4) 

amended 6/98, (6) amended 5/99, (1)(3)(4)(5)(6) amended 1/2000, (4) amended 12/2000, (2) (3) amended 

2/2001, (2) amended 3/2002, (2)(d), (3), (4) amended 8/2003, (2)(a)(b)(c)(d)(e) 1/2004, (2)(a)(c)(e), (3)(a)(b)

amended 6/2006, (1)(2)(a) amended 10/06; (6)(a)amended 1/09, (1)(5)(6)(b) amended 3/2009, (2)(b)(c) (6)

(c) amended 10/2011, (6)(a) amended 6/2012, (2)(a)(c) amended 10/12 
Authority:  34-24-165; 34-24-144; 34-24-176; 34-24-172 
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RULE 190-X-2-.01 Requirements for Licensure by Examination 
 

(1) All applicants shall have a bachelors degree from an accredited college or university and shall be a 

graduate of a chartered chiropractic school or college accredited by the council of chiropractic educa-

tion which teaches only attendance courses and requires a minimum four-year standard college 

course.  

(2)The applicant shall submit an application fee and an examination fee in the amounts set forth by 

Board Rule.  The fees must be in the form of a cashier’s check, bank certified check, or money order 

only.  These fees are non refundable. 

(3) Each applicant shall be of good moral character, a citizen of the United States or, if not a citizen of 

the United States, a person who is legally present in the United States with appropriate documentation 

from the federal government. 

(4) Application Required 

Application Form. Each applicant for licensure shall fully complete an application form prescribed 

by the Board.  

Documentation. The documents indicated below must be received by the Board before an applica-

tion will be processed.   

The following must be submitted to the Board directly from the respective institution, organiza-

tion or state licensing agency: 

A wallet or passport size photograph. 

A certified transcript of the applicant's college grades showing graduation from an accredited 

college or university with a bachelor's degree. 

A certified transcript of the applicant's chiropractic college grades showing graduation from an 

approved chiropractic college. 

A certified copy of the applicant's transcript of scores of the National Board of Chiropractic Ex-

aminers showing the applicant has passed the necessary examinations administered/

required by that Board.  

Verification(s) of licensure (out of state license holders only). 

If born outside the United States, verification the applicant is a citizen of or is legally present in 

the United States by submitting any of the form(s) or type(s) of documentation specified on 

the application. 

Notarization Required. Paper applications must be signed and notarized. 

Deadline for Application. Complete application, including all documents and any fees must be re-

ceived and approved by the Board before an examination is scheduled. 

(5) Examination Required. 
(a) National Board Examination Each applicant who matriculated into chiropractic college after 

January 1, 1973, must pass one of the following combinations of examination: 

NBCE I, II, III & IV 

NBCE I, II and SPEC 

(b) Alabama Board Examination.   

In addition to the examination referenced in (a) above, each applicant must pass an examina-

tion administered by the Board relating to State Law and Regulations. 

Passing Grade. A score of seventy - five percent is required. 

Re-examination. An applicant must pay a fee of $150 before a re examination is scheduled.  

Scores Released. The Board shall notify each examinee of the examination results within 30 

days of the examination.  
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(6) Issuance of License.  
Fee. In order to have a license issued a fee of $50.00 must be submitted.   

Time Limitation. An applicant shall not practice chiropractic until payment of the appropriate li-

cense issuance fee. An applicant who passes all required examinations but has not paid the li-

cense issuance fee and obtained a license within 12 months following the date of passing must 

reapply.   

Signatures Required and Effective Date. Each license shall be signed by the Executive Director and 

the President of the Board. The license shall be recorded with the judge of probate where the 

doctor practices as specified in the Code of Alabama 1975, 34-24-164, and evidenced by the re-

turn of the completed form or proof of recordation to the Board office. 

 

Effective:  3/6/90, amended 5/91, amended 8/93, (3) amended 3/2009, amended 10/2012    

Authority:  34-24-144; 34-24-160; 34-24-161; 34-24-163; 34-24-165 
 

RULE 190-X -1-.19 Criteria for Approval of Continuing Education 

 

All continuing education providers must apply for course approval by the Alabama Board in order 

for a licensee in Alabama to receive credit for license renewal.  Blanket approval is given to other 

states Chiropractic Boards for courses they approve for licensees in their state to use for license 

renewal as long as the course is presented on topics which fall within the current scope of prac-

tice in Alabama. 

 

Applications for approval shall: 

Be on the form prescribed by the Board; 

Be accompanied by the fee set by the Board; 

Include a detailed list of dates and locations for each seminar or module within a 365 day 

range; 

Include a sample CCE verification form; 

Include a CV for each speaker; 

Include a course syllabus; 

Include draft or final advertising brochures. 

 

A separate application with documentation, etc. must be submitted for each seminar or module.  

Applications for online courses must contain a start date and finish date for the course which may not 

be more than 365 days. 

Any request for approval should be submitted to the Board no less than thirty (30) days prior to offering 

of the course.  

 

A condition of approval shall be that the course is pertinent to the practice of chiropractic. Continuing 

education may include, but is not limited to, attendance at lectures, college and post graduate 

courses, scientific sessions of conventions, research, graduate studies, teachings, video tapes, 

internet courses or home study courses. Continuing education programs may include, but are not 

limited to, programs that address the following: 

Government regulations 

Clinical and technological subjects including but not limited to techniques and procedures 

in the Alabama scope of chiropractic or recognized specialties, chiropractic equipment, 

diagnosis and treatment planning and radiology. 

Risk Management 

CPR 

 

Programs meeting the general requirements of this rule may be developed and offered by any of the 

following agencies or organizations: 

National, state, district or local chiropractic associations; 
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Accredited colleges or schools; 

Individuals or organizations established to provide chiropractic post graduate courses; 

The Red Cross; 

American Heart Association. 

 

After examination of the subject material, the Board, in its discretion, may grant credit towards license 

renewal.  In determining whether credit is granted and the number of credit hours granted, the 

Board shall consider the apparent quality of the material taught and its professional value to the 

practitioner. 

 

The Board of Chiropractic Examiners shall have the right to monitor or audit any course or program to 

determine whether that course or program is in compliance with these rules. Any fees associated 

with such audit must be waived by the provider. No continuing education credit will be awarded as 

part of the audit. 

 

Dates and locations may be added to an approved course by submitting a letter to the Board office con-

taining the tittle, approval number, new dates and locations.  

 

Providers shall provide the Alabama Board or each participant with adequate documentation of his / her 

successful completion of the course. The documentation shall include but it not limited to : 

 

Name and license number of the participant; 

Name of the course provider; 

Name and title of the course; 

Hours/ CEU’s completed; 

Date of completion; 

Authorizing signature, and  

Board issued approval number. 

  

The Board will notify the continuing education providers of the approval or disapproval of a course. The 

notification will include the number of the approval. 

 

Author ASBCE 

Effective: 01/2013  

Authority: 34-24-144; 34-24-145;  

NBCE Founding Member Passes Away 
 

Dr. Robert I. Runnells, one of the founding members of the National 

Board of Chiropractic Examiners passed away January 2, 2013, at the 

age of 94.  Dr. Runnells served the chiropractic profession for more 

that 20 years on the Colorado State Board of Chiropractic Examiners. 



We’re on the Web!  

www.chiro.alabama.gov 

 

Board Members 
 

Gerald J. Collins, DC, President, Member District 6 

R. Brian Wells, DC, Vice – President, Member District 3 

Gregory A. Kuhlmann, DC , Secretary / Treasurer, Member District 1 

Jerry S. Kirby, DC, Member District 2 

Kenneth J. Randolph, DC District 4 

Larry H. Heaton, DC, Member District 5 

Peter E. Keen, DC, Member District 7 

James O. Gordon, DC, Minority Member / Preceptor Director 

Patricia Wilson, Consumer Member 

 

James S. Ward, Esquire, Board Attorney 

ASBCE 
126 Chilton Place 
Clanton, AL 35045 
 

Sheila Bolton 
Executive Director 
 

Administrative Assistants 
Debra Darnell (ext. 221) 
Amy Deavers (ext. 226) 
Carol Hickox (ext. 224) 
 
Wellness Hotline (ext. 223) 

Phone 
(800) 949-5838 
(205) 755-8000 

Fax 
(205) 755-0081 

E-mails 

sheila.bolton@chiro.alabama.gov 
debra.darnell@chiro.alabama.gov 
amy.deavers@chiro.alabama.gov 

 

2013 State Holidays 
 

The Board Office will be closed on the following: 
  

 Confederate Memorial Day April 22 
   

 National Memorial Day  May 27 
    

 Jefferson Davis’ Birthday June 3 
 

DATES TO CALENDAR 
 

The Board will meet in: 

Clanton, AL  

April 19, 2013 

 

OUR MISSION 

To regulate and license doctors of chiropractic in order to 
protect the people of Alabama. 

OUR VISION 

To ensure the people of Alabama will receive professional, 
ethical and quality care in utilizing chiropractic services to 

maximize health benefits. 

OUR VALUES 

Excellence, integrity, communication and ethics. 
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